CTTC re-elected as a Governing Board Member of the 6G-IA


The newly elected Governing Board of the 6G Smart Networks and Services Industry Association (6G-IA) was announced in the General Assembly that was held on March 23, 2023. CTTC’s Director of EU Programmes and Industry Contracts, Dr. Carles Antón-Haro, was re-elected as a board member for the Research Domain to represent R&D centers and academia from all over Europe. CTTC is a member of the Governing Board of the 6G-IA, formerly 5G-IA, since its creation in 2015.

The 6G-IA is the voice of European Industry and Research for next generation networks and services. Its primary objective is to contribute to Europe’s leadership on 5G, 5G evolution and SNS/6G research. The 6G-IA represents the private side in both the 5G Public Private Partnership (5G-PPP) and the Smart Networks and Services Joint Undertaking (SNS JU). In the 5G-PPP and SNS JU, the European Commission represents the public side. The 6G-IA is in charge of producing the SNS R&I work programs, white papers such as the ‘European Vision on 6G systems’, or position papers with recommendations for the EC and the entire R&D ecosystem on strategic aspects such as technological sovereignty or sustainability of future communication networks. Dr. Carles Antón-Haro has been involved in all the above activities with editorial responsibilities.

The board of the 6G-IA gathers the key players in the telecommunications arena (equipment manufacturers, mobile operators, service developers, research centers, etc.). The list of members in the Governing Board for the 2023-2024 period is as follows:

  • Large industry:  Deutsche Telekom, Ericsson, Huawei, Keysight, Nokia, Orange, Samsung, Telecom Italia, Telenor, Thales
  • SME: EURESCOM, Nextworks
  • Associations: AIOTI, PSCE
  • Research Centers and Academia: CTTC, i2CAT